Special Diet Information
At Mandy’s, we take health and safety very seriously, and our goal is to make sure your dietary requirements come first, we also like to keep is as simple as possible. Our second goal is to provide good, varied options for those guests rather than have them settle for the only option on offer.
The four categories below are our main dietary sections. Please note that many of our platters which contain meat options will also contain vegetarian choices as standard.
Gluten Free (coeliac)
For those of our customers who have an allergy to gluten will often choose a gluten-free diet. This specifically excludes the protein gluten, which is found in grains such as wheat, barley and rye and can cause inflammation in the small intestines of people with coeliac disease.
You’ll find approximately 1 in 12 people to have a gluten allergy (some may not yet know!) and so our recommended choice is the Gluten Free Lunch Box which provides a self-contained full gluten free lunch specifically for your coeliac guests.
Veganism is a diet and often a lifestyle that excludes all animal-derived ingredients. Many vegans also do not eat foods that are processed using animal products, such as refined white sugar and some wines.
In Arabic, the word halal literally means permissible and translated it is usually described as meaning ‘lawful’. People who follow Halal diets are usually doing so under Islamic dietary guidelines which state certain foods which are allowed (Halal) and other foods which are forbidden (Haram). Forbidden foods include Pork, (sometimes) Shellfish, Alcohol and animals that are not slaughtered by Halal guidelines.
Vegetarians are people who typically do not eat meat or seafood. There are several types of vegetarian, however the most common tend to be Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian (no meat, but will eat dairy or eggs) and Ovo-Vegetarian (no meat or eggs, but will eat dairy products).
Avoid making the common mistake of assuming something sweet like a cake is vegetarian. Many sweet products contain gelatine, which is an animal product and technically against the majority of vegetarian diets. All of our vegetarian products are labelled as such.